Scroll to content
01664 562500 Arbor Facebook

"Be courageous; be strong. Do everything in love".

1 Corinthians 16 vs 13-14

Enabling children to flourish and succeed

EYFS Assessment

The Early Learning Goals


What are the ELGs?

There are seven areas of learning within the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS), and these areas are divided into further categories that make up the 17 Early Learning Goals.

The reformed Early Learning Goals have been made statutory for all EYFS settings from September 2021. Read on to find out about the EYFS outcomes more in depth, how they're assessed, and handy resources to help keep you organised and up-to-date.


How are the Early Learning Goals assessed?

In the final term of the year, in which the child reaches five, educators in Reception classes must complete an Early Years Foundation Stage Profile (EYFSP) for each child, and their development must be assessed against each of the Early Learning Goals. These EYFS outcomes are explained in more detail below.

This information is then reported to parents and carers. The profile will also be shared with the child's new Year One teacher, so that they are aware of the child's level of development and can plan accordingly. Each Early Learning Goal describes what children at the expected level of development will be able to do.